Qype: The Bright Helm in Brighton

BrightonEating & DrinkingPubs & BarsPubs

In contrary to the lovely marina-based The West Quay, there’s no mistaking that this place is a Wetherspoon. It has all the benefits of cheap drinks and cheap food… and there’s no atmosphere or buzz whatsoever. Even when it’s packed out on a Saturday night, it feels more like a cattle market than a vibrant city centre bar. The food is bearable, but not as nice as some other Wetherspoons. In fact, I was utterly disappointed in my cottage pie… and my roast dinner… and my cooked breakfast. Actually, why HAVE I been here so many times?!

Anyway, what I’ve said already is nothing new where cheap, chain pubs are concerned. In fact, it’s exactly what you’d expect, so I’ll try and find some redeeming features… firstly the toilets are so enormous you could practically have a party in them and there’s a great spot to plonk yourself right in the window (in the bar, not in the toilets) so you can sit and watch (and bitch about) all the dishevelled and drunken hen parties that are sure to stumble past the window of a weekend evening. Personally though, I prefer much better scenery than West Street. And much nicer bars than The Bright Helm.

Check out my review of The Bright Helm – I am Alice_Reeves – on Qype

Leave a Reply

