Qype: Komedia in Brighton

BrightonArts & EntertainmentTheatres

Without a single shadow of a doubt, Komedia is my favourite venue in Brighton. The entertainment they offer is consistently brilliant, whether it’s a club night, a comedy show or a gig. I’ve seen several bands here, been to their famous Krater Comedy Club, their ‘Da Doo Ron Ron’ club night and most recently (last night, in fact) to see Showstopper: The Improvised Musical. All were superb – either great fun, immensely clever, absolutely hilarious or all of the above.

They’ve got several rooms within the building, which is far bigger inside than it looks on the outside. My favourite bit is (strangely) the basement, which is where their Krater nights are held. I don’t know why, it just always seems to have a fabulous atmosphere. Probably because from the second the you walk in, everyone knows what a great night they’re in for.

My only complaint is that the drinks prices are pretty extortionate, even for central Brighton. Last night cost me £10 for two drinks. On their club nights though, they do tend to have drinks offers (usually a lager along with a spirit and mixer). I don’t really mind the alcohol prices too much though, as their entertainment is always such excellent value. In five years of going here, I’ve never walked out feeling like I haven’t got my money’s worth.

Check out my review of Komedia – I am Alice_Reeves – on Qype

Leave a Reply

