Qype: Las Iguanas in Brighton

BrightonEating & DrinkingRestaurants

In terms of food, I don’t think Las Iguanas presents particularly good value for money, which is why I haven’t eaten there in ages. Being wheat intolerant, I can hardly eat anything on the menu apart from the Chilli Con Carne which I found very disappointing (…and bizarrely presented with tortilla chips stuck into the chilli at odd angles). It was OK, but definitely not great. I can’t say I’d ever be tempted to eat here again unless they radically overhaul their menu.

BUT – and this is a big but – if you want a place to go for a few drinks, or more specifically a LOT of cocktails, then Las Iguanas is fantastic value for money. I’ve been here many a time to take advantage of their two-for-one cocktail offer, which works out at under £3 per drink. Superb value, as that’s even cheaper than a pint in most places in Brighton.

My current favourite is the Ipanema Breeze – I can’t remember for the life of me what it has in it, but DO know it’s absolutely delicious. Their Mojitos are also brilliant (but, sadly, not in the BOGOF offer). The Caipirinha (don’t ask me how to pronounce it) is their signature cocktail – made with Cachaça (a liquor made from fermented sugarcane), fresh lime, sugar and crushed ice it’s wonderfully sweet, fantastically refreshing and well worth a try on a hot sunny day.

Check out my review of Las Iguanas – I am Alice_Reeves – on Qype

Leave a Reply

