Qype: Walkabout Inn in Brighton

BrightonEating & DrinkingPubs & BarsPubs

Admittedly this is the only Walkabout I’ve ever been to, but due to the Wetherspoon-style chain nature of the place, I’m willing to bet they’re all pretty much the same. Generally, I’m not a fan of chain pubs, but if I were given the choice between this and the other generic delights that West Street has to offer (Oceana, Wetherspoon’s, Yates) then Walkabout would win hands-down. At least it has a nice outdoor area.

Before I came to University, I visited Brighton to check out the town and ended up eating in Walkabout on two out of three nights. The food is pretty good value for money (I was almost totally skint) – generous portions and rather tastier than your usual chain pub fodder. Their menu also has a bit of a twist. In addition to your standard burgers, steaks or chicken ‘n’ chips, Walkabout gives you the choice of things like crocodile steaks, kangaroo burgers and shark. I haven’t been brave enough to try the crocodile steak yet, but they’re beef steaks are pretty good. Not great by any means, but good.

Their drinks are also dirt cheap and they run a lot of student deals on week nights. It’s also a pretty sports-related place, so if you want to join a rowdy crowd to watch the rugby or a more chilled out crowd to watch the cricket then this is your place.

Check out my review of Walkabout Inn – I am Alice_Reeves – on Qype

Leave a Reply

