Qype: The Tin Drum in Brighton

BrightonEating & DrinkingRestaurantsInternational

I used to come here a lot when I worked around Seven Dials way and never walked away anything but satisfied. This family-run business, established in 1998, now has three pubs throughout Brighton and Hove. In my opinion, this one is the original and best. Well, better than the Kemp Town one – I have yet to sample the delights of the latest Hove edition.

My favourite dish of theirs, and the one I used to have the most, was their grilled sirloin steak with hand-cut chips (the THICKEST ones you’ve ever seen), grilled vine tomatoes and peppercorn sauce. Although a bit pricey at £15, it’s immensely tasty (even though I usually feel like I’d like a few more chips please…)

All the food that The Tin Drum serves is incredibly flavoursome – the owners now have their own smallholding in Upper Dicker (just outside Hailsham) where they grow a lot of their produce and most of their meat is locally sourced as well. You can’t beat that kind of quality.

The atmosphere of the place is great: very relaxed and laid-back. It does fill up very quickly though on account of its fantastic reputation, so get in early if you want to sit down for a meal! The Tin Drum is a pretty unique place in that you’d feel equally at home with a coffee and a book as you would with an enormous steak and a bottle of red wine. It’s classy without being pretentious, chilled-out without being lifeless. If I lived closer to the Dials I’m sure I would spend a lot of time in here. A great place to go, no matter what mood you find yourself in.

Check out my review of The Tin Drum – I am Alice_Reeves – on Qype

Leave a Reply

