Qype: Buddies Brighton in Brighton

BrightonEating & DrinkingRestaurantsSeafood

Ever-popular with the student masses and weekend club-goers, Buddies is a 24-hour seafront diner. Conveniently located just a stone’s throw from the clubs in the King’s Road Arches, this is the only place I know where you can get a full fry up at 3am. In my student days, we frequently stumbled out of The Honeyclub or Coalition (née The Beach) at around 4am and decided rather than sleeping and THEN having breakfast, it was far more time-effective to do it the other way around.

There are, however, a few problems with Buddies. The first is that it’s absolutely packed with rowdy drunk people. Not all the time, but after about 2am. And I wouldn’t want to go here at any other time. Secondly, it’s way too expensive for what it is – I think they count on people being too hammered to think rationally about spending £7-8 on a fry up (but hey, their rationale works). Thirdly, last time I went there I stormed out before our order even arrived because I was so appalled by the way one of their male staff members spoke to me. True, it was about 4am and insanely busy but I was hungry, tired and definitely NOT in the mood to be offended. I haven’t wanted to go back since.

All in all, this place offers bad pricing and (from my last experience) bad service. The only reason to go here is that nothing else is open, so I guess they feel like they don’t need to rely on anything else. My advice would be to check out their Fish ‘n’ Chip takeaway, Buddies Plaice, next door for much better value for money.

Check out my review of Buddies Brighton – I am Alice_Reeves – on Qype

2 thoughts on “Qype: Buddies Brighton in Brighton

  1. I like it during the day! There are nicer places though. “it’s absolutely packed with rowdy drunk people. Not all the time, but after about 2am.” Seems fitting for 2am :p

    • Haha, fair enough! I just think it’s a bit too pricey for what you get. I’ve been here at about 11am though for a mega Buddies breakfast and the place itself was fine – my inner student just resented paying £8 for a fry-up when I could have popped down the road to Tiffany’s and got one for under £4.

      And rowdy drunk people scare me… :s Especially fancy-dressed stag and hen parties, which this place is a MAGNET for. The bouncers are nice though – great conversation!

Leave a Reply

