Qype: La Panza es Primero in Madrid

MadridEating & DrinkingRestaurantsMexican

Inside La Panza es Primero

After a night out on the town bar-crawling (in a civilised manner, of course) around Old Madrid, we decided to take an alternative route back to the hotel along the Calle Segovia. When we passed this place and had a look inside, we couldn’t help stopping for a quick glass of vino. It just looked so immensely cool with its combination of exposed brick walls, flashing neon, pictures and street signs. Not to mention the rather enticing, dusty bottles of wine displayed above the bar…

Oh, I’m weak-willed I know, but I’m a sucker for good wine and great bars.

Our tumblers of Rioja

The wine was served in short, fat, tumblers rather than wine glasses (as we found in several places) and was a lovely, smooth, fruity Rioja (my favourite Spanish wine, but if you’ve read any of my other Madrid reviews you’ve probably figured that one out already!) We perched at the bar as we weren’t intending to stay long, but even from there I could feel that the atmosphere in the restaurant was busy and buzzing. I was almost sorry that I’d already eaten earlier in the evening and definitely wished we’d found this place sooner than on our last night.

Check out my review of La Panza es primero – I am Alice_Reeves – on Qype

Leave a Reply

