Qype: Wagamama in Brighton

BrightonEating & DrinkingRestaurantsJapanese & Sushi

I must say that even though so many of my friends absolutely adore Wagamama, I just don’t quite get the hype. Firstly, I don’t like the canteen-style seating, where everyone sits along a giant bench. When I eat out, I like a table to myself and my friends thank you very much. Also, there isn’t much I can eat – only a limited selection of the main dishes are wheat-free as most are made with wheat noodles or contain soy sauce or both. As for the starters, I may as well forget it unless all I want is a bowl of edamame beans.

The food I did have wasn’t particularly tasty either – just a pile of bland rice and chicken – and was most definitely overpriced at about £8. This is an expensive fast-food place that often isn’t even that fast, on the handful of occasions I’ve been here we’ve all been served at different times meaning that some people have finished eating while others hadn’t been served yet.

If it’s authentic, value for money Japanese food you’re after, I would recommend heading down Jubilee Street to Pompoko (http://www.qype.co.uk/place/315695-Pompoko-Brighton)

Check out my review of Wagamama – I am Alice_Reeves – on Qype

Leave a Reply

