Qype: Metrodeco in Brighton

BrightonEating & DrinkingCafes & Coffee ShopsTea Shops

As a lifelong lover of tea (I probably drink at least fifteen cups a day), I cannot believe that I only went to Metrodeco for the first time on Friday. This place is absolutely delightful and is exactly what I’d like to think a 1930s style tea room should look like. Tea is served in proper china tea cups with saucers, the teaspoons are real silver and the sugar on each table is displayed in glass champagne saucers.

Afternoon tea at Metrodeco

For any discerning tea drinker in Brighton, Metrodeco is an absolute must visit. Their tea menu is fabulous, with each tea beautifully described. I opted for the ‘Shades of Grey’ which is their unique, exclusive Earl Grey blend and ended up buying a bag to take home with me because it was so good.

It’s well worth my trek from Fiveways to Kemp Town, especially on a gorgeous sunny day when the huge windows and light, airy decor make it a gorgeous place to be. You can almost believe you’ve gone back in time, albeit to several different places at once – the black wooden floor, mismatched tables and chairs ranging from pretty pastels to gold gilt leopard print to retro seventies-style black glass really shouldn’t work so perfectly together, but they do.

The best thing though? Well, the two best things. Firstly, this place is also an antique shop – pretty much everything is for sale. If I’d had £900 to spend on a life-sized dog statue, I probably would have done. Secondly, they sell absolutely delicious gluten-free cakes. Combining everything I’ve just described, along with the wonderfully friendly and engaging owners Maggie and Helen, I reckon this is my new favourite place to be in Brighton.

Gluten-Free Lemon Cake at Metrodeco: probably the best cake I've EVER had

Check out my review of metrodeco – I am Alice_Reeves – on Qype

One thought on “Qype: Metrodeco in Brighton

Leave a Reply

